Committee Members
Important Dates
Abstract Submission
Information for Participants
Information for Chairs and Presenters
Travel Grant
About the Attractive Venue
Nominations Sought for Honorary Lifetime Members,
Young Investigator, Greisman, and Nowotny Awards
Nature Immunology Award
An important part of every IEIIS conference is the selection of two distinguished investigators to receive Honorary Lifetime Memberships in the Society for outstanding career contributions to the knowledge and understanding of bacterial endotoxins and innate immunity. Recipients of this honor receive an attractive award and are granted a permanent exemption from dues and meeting registration fees, while retaining all the rights and privileges of active membership. Nominations for Honorary Lifetime Membership (HLM) are now being requested for consideration at the Tokyo, 2012 meeting.
Past recipients of HLM awards are (in alphabetical order): Shizuo Akira, Louis Chedid, Peter Elsbach, Sheldon Greisman, Arthur Johnson, Shoichi Kusumoto, Jack Levin, Otto Luderitz, William McCabe, Herbert Morgan, W.T.J. Morgan, David Morrison, Robert Munford, Masagasu Nakano, Mary Jane Osborn, Malcolm Perry, Ernst Th. Rietschel, Jon A Rudbach, Johanna Schlosshardt, Tetsuo Shiba, Anna-Marie Staub, Lewis Thomas, Dennis Watson, and Otto Westphal. Nominations for this award should be made by email to Dr. Alan Cross, at The nomination should include a description of the nominee’s contributions and achievements in the areas of endotoxin and/or innate immunity research, and must be received on or before August 1, 2012.
In addition to honoring scientists for lifetime contributions to endotoxin and/or innate immunity research, the IEIIS also offers two awards which recognize the achievements of promising young scientists at the start of their careers. All nominees must be members of the Society at the time of their nomination. Young Investigator Awards are given to pre- or post-doctoral students who are less than 35 years old and who are presenting a poster at the IEIIS. Nominations for this award must be made by the nominee’s research advisor and should be submitted by email to Nancy Pollman at
The Nowotny Award is given to a “young investigator who has shown excellence in research, made a significant contribution to the study of endotoxins, shows potential for further scientific development, and whose research is close to that pursued by Dr. Alois Nowotny. Nominations for the Nowotny Award should be submitted by email to Nancy Pollman at Nominations for both the Young Investigator and Nowotny Awards must be received on or before August 1, 2012.
At the Vancouver 2010 meeting of the IEIIS, the Governing Council approved a recommendation made by a committee chaired by Dr. Jack Levin to establish a new Greisman Award in memory of Dr. Sheldon E. Greisman:
“The award is made to honor Sheldon Greisman, M.D. whose contributions helped provide a foundation for understanding host responses to endotoxin. Many of his observations provided a conceptual basis for current clinical innate and adaptive immunity research.”
The award will be given to an investigator (M.D. or Ph.D.) in the clinical or basic sciences who has made substantial and original contributions which have led to an increased understanding of the interactions between microorganisms and innate immunity. Particular emphasis will be placed on translational research that provides new opportunities and directions for the development of diagnostic and therapeutic approaches.”

The Greisman family has made a generous contribution to the IEIIS for this award. It will be given for the first time in 2012 and at every subsequent meeting of the IEIIS. Please send nominations for this award to Nancy Pollman at Nominating letters should describe the contributions of the nominees that merit consideration for this award.
As a departure from previous years, these awards will be presented at a plenary session in which either the presenter and/or awardee will be asked to give a short talk describing their work. In addition, the Young Investigators will also present their work at the plenary session.
I would like to strongly urge the membership to encourage colleagues, particularly young scientists, who are not members, to join the Society. In addition to their joining the ranks of a global fellowship of distinguished colleagues in advancing scientific excellence, members receive a registration discount and become eligible for travel awards to the meeting. Potential members will find easy directions for joining the Society on our website at
In addition to these IEIIS awards ,Nature Immunology Award will be awarded by courtesy of Nature Immunology. The winner will be selected from the submitted abstracts. All the submitted abstracts automatically have a chance to win the award. No special action is needed for the application.
We encourage your active submission of the abstracts.
IEIIS2012 Secretariat
c/o A & E Planning Co., Ltd.
3rd floor, Shobunkan Bldg, 3-2-8, Kanda Jimbocho, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, 101-0051, Japan
Tel: +81-3-3230-2744    Fax: +81-3-3230-2479    E-mail: